Choose Your Team
Event Planning

Captured Event

April 04, 2012 - 1000 + Club - 2012 Women of the Year

Where: 3030 Ocean, Marriott Harbor Beach

When: Wednesday, April 4, 2012

Time: 10:30 AM - 2:00 PM

Beneficiary: 1000 + Club

Master of Ceremonies: Tony Segreto

Honorary Chairperson(s): Paula Valad

Co-Chair(s): Kathy Eggleston, Julie Osinski-Burk, Jennifer Tallow

Committee Members: Anne Ahrens, Reba Amdur, Sandra Booth, barbara Briestein, Noel Brown, Deborah Dolchin, Billie Sue Engel, Carol Falkanger, Christine Galvin, Patty Grace, Susan Greaton, Sharon Gustafson, Jan Handley, Anita Kotler, Jo Anne Lewis, JoLynn Lombardi, Manya Lowry, Marian McCray-DeLoach,Diana Metcalf, Margie Nagle, LLona Osinski, Gemma Pressinger, Stella Siegel, Loretta Slater, Nathalie Sloane, Gina Stelnik, Lorraine Thomas, Merrill Thomas, Becki Tinter, Wendy Walters, Sharlene Wolterman, Karola Woodworth & Rose Mary Zenobia

Sponsors: PRESENTING SPONSOR: Broward Health - VISIONARY SPONSOR: Lorraine Thomas - PLATINUM SPONSOR: Neiman Marcus Fort Lauderdale - GOLD SPONSOR: Over the Top Linens - SILVER SPONSOR: Medallion Occasion Boutique - BRONZE SPONSOR: AutoNation, ESPR - Ellen Schulman, Holland America & Southern Wine & Spirits - GRAND PATRON: Sharon Gustafson & Barry florescue, PSAV & Jon Paul Jewelers - PATRON: Carole Falkanger, Gina Stelnik & Tiffany's Photographic Studio - MEDIA SPONSOR: THINK Magazine

Board of Directors: EXECUTIVE BOARD: President, Deborah Dolchin; Lorraine Thomas, Kathy Eggleston,Carole Falkanger, Gina Stelnik, Paula Valad, Merrill Thomas, Susan Farver & Anne Ahrens

Blacktie Photos by: Ginny Fujino,

The Blacktie Photo Gallery is sponsored by:

1000+ Club to Benefit Cancer Raises $150,000 at
30th Anniversary Women of the Year Pearls of Promise Luncheon

 More than 800 guests gathered at the Marriott Harbor Beach Resort and Spa for the 2012 Women of the Year Luncheon sponsored by the 1000+ Club to Benefit Cancer.  The event, in its 30th year, raised more than $150,000 to benefit local nonprofit organizations dedicated to the fight against cancer.

Debbie Dolchin, the organization’s president was thrilled with the results.  “The 1000+ Plus Club Board and Women of the Year Committee worked so hard to make sure this was  another successful luncheon,” she said.  “We are thrilled to able to provide additional grants this year to help in the fight against cancer.”

Kathy Eggleston, Julie Osinski Burk and Jennifer Tallow chaired the event, with sponsorship support from THINK magazine, Broward Health Foundation, Lorraine Thomas, Southern Wine and Spirit, the Marriott Harbor Beach Resort and Spa, Neiman Marcus Fort Lauderdale, Holland America Lines, AutoNation, Azamara Cruiselines, Ellen Schulman Public Relations, Medallion Occasions and Over the Top Linens, and Jon Paul Jewelers.  Mark Schumacher served as master of ceremonies for the event.

    The 2012 Women of the Year Honorees and their sponsoring    organizations were:
•    Sherry Manley: Children’s Home Society
•    Merrill Thomas: Cystic Fibrosis, Gold Coast Guild
•    Gladys Goodmonson:  Freedoms Foundation of Valley Forge
•    Doreen Koenig: The Girlfriends’ Club, Holy Cross Hospital Dorothy Mangurian Women’s Center
•    Jen Klaassens:  Jessica June Children’s Cancer Foundation
•    Betsy Bradford:  Opera Society
•    Mirtha Toldeo-Hackley:  Pinion, Inc.
•    Joey Stotsky:  Royal Dames of Cancer Research
•    Mary Kazares: Symphony of Americas Society
•    Susan Renneisen:  Winterfest, Inc.
•    Jan Rothenberg:  Women and Wishes, Inc.
•    Joan Hillegas:  Women in Distress, Inc.
•    Janet Bullard-Bledsoe: Women’s Executive Club, Inc.

    Founded in 1978 by Ellie Gertz, the Women of the Year is the primary fundraiser of the 1000+Club, which has contributed in the last three decades more than $ 3.6 million in grants to local nonprofits.  For information call  Debbie at 954-494-3400 or visit

See More Past Events